Oct 2013
Posted by katew

What it means to be a Chartered Financial Planner

The Chartered Insurance Institute (CII) introduced the ‘Chartered Financial Planner’ qualification in 2006. The institute recognised that seeking financial advice can be a daunting process – especially when it comes to finding a financial planner you trust to act in your best interests and provide unbiased advice. Where you see their symbol, you know the financial advice you receive will be independent, professional, and regulated by the Financial Services Authority’s strict guidelines.

To receive ‘Chartered’ status, individual financial planners undertake years of in-depth study to achieve the CII’s Advanced Diploma in Financial Planning, one of the highest level exams a Financial Planner can take. The qualification is designed to test knowledge, ability and ethical conduct in all areas of advice. As well as gaining this qualification, Chartered Financial Planners must also have five years of relevant industry experience and three years of Continuing Professional Development (CPD).

CPD is industry specific training, which must be undertaken for as long as a Chartered Financial Planner wishes to practice. This ensures their skills and knowledge are constantly honed and kept up to date, so their advice is always in line with best practice.

Finally, Chartered Financial Planners also must adhere to the Chartered Insurance Institute’s (CII’s) Code of Ethics and Conduct and hold valid membership of the Personal Finance Society.

More information on the institute is available on the CII website

    September 2020
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug